Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Huddersfield and District Chess Association held on Thursday 9 June 2011 at Lindley Liberal Club

Present

Bill Lumley	President, Netherton	
Chris Stratford	Treasurer, Huddersfield	
Geoff Peake	Secretary, Holme Valley	
Roger Keely	Holme Valley	
Derek Senior	David Browns	
Nick Edwards	Netherton	
Greg Bailey	Netherton	
John Newsome	Netherton	
Mark Shelmerdine	Wakefield	
Mike Wilford	Wakefield	
Peter Czerwinski	Huddersfield	
Dave Patrick	Calderdale	
Dave Colledge	Calderdale	
Peter Shaw	Netherton	
David Firth	Huddersfield	

- 1) A minute's silence was held to remember Barry Brian of West Bretton and Wakefield Chess clubs. John Newsome, Mike Wilford and Mark Shelmerdine spoke in memory of Barry and the contribution he made to chess in the HDCA.
- 2) Apologies: Alec Ward, David Firth (arrived late), Paul Jackson, Leo Keely, Dave Keddie
- 3) Minutes of 2010 AGM Approved (proposed John Newsome seconded Mark Shelmerdine)
- 4) Matters arising from the minutes of the 2010 AGM. None
- 5) It was resolved that the treasurer Chris Stratford be authorised to sign cheques for the association.

- 6) President's report (Bill Lumley)
 Bill reminisced about his many years service as secretary and president of HDCA. He thanked Geoff Peake for his service as Secretary.

 He reminded those present of the proceedings of the meeting of 14 April where Geoff Peake resigned as secretary and Bill also resigned as president. At that meeting Nick Edwards agreed to take on the secretary role although the position of president remained unfilled. Since the meeting Roger Keely had agreed to become president. Bill thanked Chris Stratford for taking over the role of treasurer from Dave Firth. Bill thanked Dave Firth for his service as treasurer. Bill expressed his best wishes to Nick Edwards and Roger Keely as they commenced work as secretary and president.
- 7) Secretary's report (Geoff Peake)

 Geoff explained that he had intended to stay in the post for 10 years but he had to leave earlier for reasons explained on 14 April. Geoff summarized some of the changes that he had been responsible for introducing to the league. They included
 - The Watkinson Finals and seeding of matches in the Watkinson and Examiner competitions.
 - The idea of live grades which has been adopted by Yorkshire Chess Association (Chessnuts)
 - The idea of having to play 2 matches before being eligible for the Watkinson finals.
 - The changes in the structure of the individual knockout competition (to 4 sections)
 - The improvements to the handicap system which has led to such a close fight in this year's Examiner and Knockout completions
 - Building flexibility into the calendar to allow weather cancellations to be coped with.
 - Introducing a system for dealing with incidents.

Geoff also raised the issues of defaults which allowed David Brown to win the team knockout competition.

Geoff thanked Bill Lumley and David Firth for their work as president and treasurer. Geoff remembered the great contribution of the late Roger Tuddenham of West Bretton chess club.

Geoff also thanked Peter Czerwinski and John Newsome for their work as team captains. He thanked his team colleagues from Holme Valley: Roger Keely, Stewart Thompson and Leo Keely. He also thanked various people for their contributions including Matthew Parsons, Robert Sutcliffe, and Chris Stratford.

Geoff thanked Nick Edwards for taking on the role of secretary. Geoff emphasised the importance getting key details in plenty of time so that the next season could be planned (teams entered, captains, venues and days played).

- 8) Treasurer's report (Chris Stratford)
 - The treasurer reported that there was a deficit between income and expenditure that would eventually need addressing. This was due to fewer team entries to handicap competitions and fewer entries to the individual knockout.
- 9) Minutes of the meeting 14 April were accepted (Proposed G Bailey Seconded D Patrick)
- 10) Matters arising from the meeting. Already covered earlier
- 11) Election of officers

President: Roger Keely

Proposed Geoff Peake Seconded John Newsome. Carried Unanimously

Secretary: Nick Edwards

Proposed John Newsome Seconded Geoff Peake. Carried Unanimously

Treasurer: Chris Stratford

Proposed Bill Lumley Seconded John Newsome. Carried Unanimously

- 12) A vote of thanks for the work of Bill Lumley and Geoff Peake was carried unanimously
- 13) Election of Competition (Handicap) committee.

 It was unanimously agreed that Nick Edwards would replace Geoff
 Peake and Roger Keely would replace Bill Lumley. The committee is

made of these 4 persons: Roger Keely, Eddie Mellor, Paul Jackson, Nick Edwards).

14) League Fees

Bill Lumley proposed that Fees remain unchanged, Geoff Peake seconded the proposal and the proposal was passed.

15) Presentation of Trophies

Trophy	Winner	Collected by
Watkinson Trophy	Huddersfield Knights	Peter Czerwinski
Littlewood Shield	Holme Valley	Geoff Peake
Team Knockout	David Browns	David Senior
Examiner Plate	Huddersfield Rooks	Peter Czerwinski
Individual Knockout	Peter Shaw	Peter Shaw
(Section 1)		
Individual Knockout	Paul Jackson	John Newsome
(Section 2)		
Individual Knockout	Josh Blinkhorn	Peter Czerwinski
(Dave Woodhead)		
Individual Knockout	Mike Wilford	Mike Wilford
(Section 3)		
Bill Lumley Trophy	Calderdale	Dave Patrick

The FW Brown Trophy was not played

The following defeated finalists were awarded shields

Trophy	Runner Up	Collected by
Individual Knockout	Dave Patrick	Dave Patrick
(Section 1)		
Individual Knockout	Alec Ward	Dave Senior
(Section 2)		
Individual Knockout	John Eagers	John Newsome
(Dave Woodhead)		
Individual Knockout	Norman Battye	Roger Keely
(Section 3)		

16) Proposition

The proposition listed in the agenda regarding tie-breaking in the Watkinson Competition was passed

- 17) Deadline for entries/updating club details: this was left open since not all clubs had had their Annual General Meetings. Geoff suggested that the entries would need to be in towards the end of August to allow fixture lists to be produced.
- 18) Proposed date of the next AGM: 7 June 2012.
- 19) AOB None